Home / Education / Minister Of Education Set To Probe 12 Federal Universities (See Full List)

Minister Of Education Set To Probe 12 Federal Universities (See Full List)

Adamu Adamu, Minister of Education, has constituted a seven-member committee who will audit how the grants for the take-off projects in the 12 new federal universities established between 2011 and 2013, were used.

Hussaini Adamu the acting permanent secretary of the ministry made the announcement on Wednesday, April 26, in Abuja.

The statement made it clear that the former Vice-Chancellor of the University of Ibadan (UI), Olufemi Bamiro, will serve as Chairman, while Kefas Magaji serves as secretary of the committee.

Other members of the committee are: S. L. Abubakar, Mansur Ahmed, Umar Aliyu, Freddy Esenwa and Patrick Oshio.

The 12 new universities to be audited are:

1. The Federal University, Lokoja

2. Federal University, Oye-Ekiti

3. Federal University, Ndufu-Alike

4. Federal University, Dutse

5. Federal University, Dutsin-Ma

6. Federal University, Gusau.

7. Federal University, Kashere

8. Federal University, Gashua

9. Federal University, Birnin-Kebbi

10. Federal University, Lafia

CHECK :  Man shares inspirational story of how he picked an orphan he met during Youth Service and sponsord him through University

11. Federal University, Otuoke

12. Federal University, Wukari

According to Premium Times, part of the committee’s assignment is to determine the actual amount released to the Nigeria Universities Commission (NUC) by TETFund as take-off grant for projects for the 12 universities.

They are also to identify and confirm the number of contracts awarded, including contract sums under the take-off grants.

According to the statement, the committee would be inaugurated on May 2, and would be expected to complete its assignment in 12 weeks. Lastly, the committee will also make sure that due process was followed in the award of contracts for the take-off projects, determine the amount paid on each project, including outstanding claims, if any, to date.

Swanta was suspended indefinitely by the Senior Staff Association of Nigerian Universities (SSANU) over anti-union activities. She was suspended alongside 21 other staff of the institution by the SSANU. Students however continue to find it hard to register for some examinations.

CHECK :  Police Officer Slaps, Arrests Two fake blind beggars at Imo State University, Owerri (photos)

Check Also

Eight of my children are PhD holders – Obasanjo

Former President Olusegun Obasanjo has disclosed that he has eight children who are doctorate degree …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *